Week 3 – Keeping it real with Coach Carter – MKMMA

Last Sunday’s webinar seemed to be speaking directly to me. The what-ifs, the by x date, meaning waiting till the last day to accomplish a task, job, keep a promise. But then we added the SMART, and the R in there really bugged me.

Adjusting my expectations… of me

I hear Haanel when advises not to dwell on the past and to refrain from complaining about past conditions. I am here to change and I to be honest I couldn’t un-know, unlearn or un-change all the things I have read, learnt, done. Even if I tried.

I am not afraid of hard work, as a matter of fact I enjoy it and I quite fancy those golden apples of the Garden of Hesperides.

So when I wrote the first draft of my DMP I decided to be a bit bold in my goals. Just like Lori I am not afraid of hard work, as a matter of fact I enjoy it and I quite fancy those golden apples of the Garden of Hesperides.

But then that word dropped: realistic.

For as long as I can remember well meaning people around me have told me to be realistic and not to aim too high. Which translated into adjusting my expectations of myself. Although I didn’t necessarily always heed that advice, it has been a recurrent whisper in my head whenever I set out to undertake a serious task.

Powerful beyond measure

This is the reason why I haven’t read out my DMP to my family, or anyone for that matter. I have told them I would, but I can only imagine them laughing and apologising, but then laughing some more.

I have a clear-ish vision of my DMP and thanks to my amazing guide Charlotte the mist has dissipated.

The R is not sneering, it means just that: realistic.

My greatest fear was not that I was inadequate, but that I was powerful beyond measure.

Identifying as a deadline-worker meant I used to wait until the very last minute to deliver, study or even pack my bags for vacations, it also meant I never gave my all. And by extension that no one could gauge what I really was capable of.

It’s not that I doubted myself, more a weird need to please my naysayers.

My greatest fear was not that I was inadequate, but that I was powerful beyond measure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

